Throughout 2019, the TiMe cohort has continued to demonstrate their dedication to cancer research with a focus on the tissue microenvironment. This year, students published 13 papers, presented their research in 50 conference presentations, and filed 3 patents.

17 awards were received by 5 TiMe scholars, including travel awards, best poster awards, and more. Congratulations to the following students for their excellent achievements!

Aidan Gilchrist: F31 DK117514 Ruth L. Kirchstein National Research Service Award (NIDDK); Mavis Future Faculty Award

Catherine Applegate: Nutrition 2019, CARIG Poster Session 3rd Place Award; University of Illinois Frank W. Kari Memorial Award; University of Illinois Margin of Excellence Travel Award; University of Illinois Margin of Excellence Research Award

Hailey Knox: European Molecular Imaging Meeting, Outstanding Poster Award; Bioorganic Chemistry Gordon Research Conference, Outstanding Poster Award; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Vandever Voorhees Award for Best Original Research Proposal

Parinaz Fathi: Coordinated Science Laboratory Best Poster Award; 2019 Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting, Graduate College Conference Travel Award; Mavis Future Faculty Fellowship; NIH Summer Course in Clinical and Translational Research; Graduate College, Certificate of Mentorship; Los Alamos National Laboratory Advanced Studies Institute Award; Bioengineering Department Graduate Student Leadership Award

Svyatoslav Dvoretskiy: Thomas K. Cureton Physical Fitness Research Award